Civil Engineer site work

What is the best place to work in Fort McMurray? Share your experiences.

Civil Engineer site work

I am a 30 year old Civil Engineer from Ireland. I was meant to be starting work with a Civil contractor in Fort Mc on 1st of April. This company was putting through an LMO for me to get a work visa. They started the process in January but they contacted me last week and said that their company is currently going through an audit by the government and that basically it could take up to 6 months before my application goes through. I am now looking to get in contact with another company in Fort Mc that does large civil works and could sponsor me to work there. Nearly all of the Civil Engineering positions online are in the design field, which I have no experience in and most companies wont talk to me as I don't have a visa. Basically I would appreciate it if anybody had a contact they could give me to get in touch with someone in the Civil works/ Earth works industry I would really appreciate it as I am in a very difficult position right now.
Chewthecud

Civil Engineer site work

Sponsors

Advertise in Fort McMurray

Re: Civil Engineer site work

Unread postby jango » Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:36 am

try doing a Skilled worker application from your end, it can be processed in under 2 years depending on processing time, i know it seems long but it will pay out in the long run.
you need to be registered as an engineer with APEGA ( www.apega.org) to practice engineering in alberta, and can't declare yourself as an engineer in the province without getting registered, if your degree is done with a university that is not accredited with Canada, you will need minimum 120 months of verified engineering experience, or have to write a FE engineering exam done by NCEES ( www.NCEES.org)
you can still practice engineering here but it would legally need to be done under the direct supervision of a registered engineer ( Peng.)
jango