Considering Relocation for IT job

Thinking about visiting or moving to Fort McMurray? Ask the people who live here your questions.

Considering Relocation for IT job

Hello all,

I’m a 37yo male, an accomplished and experienced office & call center (Dispatch/IT helpdesk) manager with 15yrs experience supervising 20+ staff for an IT service company in Burnaby. However, I’m not that technical (A+, MCP, etc), more of a top end power user. Other various duties have included, maintenance contract administration, logistics (shipping/receiving), payroll and some accounts receivable tasks all with solid measurable success. There is much more but I’m not trying post a resume but rather get a feel if Ft Mc can offer me greater opportunity to better provide for my wife and new baby. The idea I’m playing with is to move there, live in high priced squalor and send the cheqs home. My impression of Ft Mc is that it is a rough, cash heavy city filled with blue collar men that are mentally erect, no place for a family. I hear 3rd party stories of lesser qualified administrators earning top dollar and would like to proof it out. Is there demand for people like me there? Is the city really no place to walk alone at night? Is it worth talking to a local employment agency or monitor employers and apply direct?

I really appreciate candid replies and any help to make an informed decision.
myson

Sponsored links

Advertise in Fort McMurray

Re: Considering Relocation

Unread postby MacDaddy » Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:10 pm