Moving from Ottawa

Thinking about visiting or moving to Fort McMurray? Ask the people who live here your questions.

Moving from Ottawa

Hey there, well I am looking for something new, just went through a breakup and need to get out of here . I am looking to move in Fort Mcmurray in the next 2 months. I will most likely be going with my car. Just have a few questions if you guys wouldnt mind. Btw i am 21 years old, highly motivated to make some money and just want to get started ASAP.

1.I heard there is not alot of girls, I tend to like them quite alot, how bad is it in Fort Mcmurray?

2. Is it easy to land a well paying job in the oil sands even before I leave Ottawa? (I graduated high school, speak french/english, have my full G license, clean driving record for 5 years and have a security guard license)

3. My plan is to have atleast 3000 dollars before I leave, is this enough?

4. I know on the camps usually you work for 21 days and off for 7 days. Most workers go back home on that 7 days but I wont be doing that, so I should probably try to find a place in Fort Mcmurray and try to find a job that I can go back at home a lot since ill be renting, or should i just suck it up and just stay in the camps 24/7 and not rent?

Thanks in advance!
Pown

Moving from Ottawa

Sponsors

Advertise in Fort McMurray

Re: Moving from Ottawa

Unread postby MacDaddy » Sun Jul 28, 2013 4:52 pm

Well,

1) No females are allowed in Fort McMurray. There used to be an inexplicable epidemic of harry palmed men and chronic shortage of tissues. These both slowly resolved with the addition of saltpetre to the municipal water supply.

2) Finished high school and can drive a car? I am surprised the headhunter agencies haven't' been chasing you already.

3) $3000? That should cover first and last month rent, security deposit if you don't mind slumming it.