Waitress in Fort McMurray...Yay or nay?

Thinking about visiting or moving to Fort McMurray? Ask the people who live here your questions.

Waitress in Fort McMurray...Yay or nay?

:D Hello everyone! :D

I currently live in Edmonton. I am thinking of moving to ft.Mac in June next year. I am looking for a new change in my life but mostly trying to save up money to go back to university again. (I have a diploma in Art but I cannot support myself by being just an artist, so I have my second job as a waitress)

So anyways How realistically is it to make a living in Ft. Mac just by serving/waitressing? My friend who used to live up there told me that servers there make more money than ones in Edmonton. However, my other friends here said "Don't go up there unless you have some oil-related job lined up for you. Basically if you were a waitress, you will be living on pay check by pay check."
Is it better off staying at the city and save up? I am willing to do anything to save up there pretty much, but just don't really know what is available.
I am an adventurous girl, and never been up there so one day I might just drive up and see what's up. but If you could throw me some comments, I'd very much appreciate it. I am very new to this forum, but hope to hear from someone :)
Cheers
nick123

Sponsored links

Advertise in Fort McMurray

Re: Waitress in Fort McMurray...Yay or nay?

Unread postby The Yeti » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:20 pm