Best Campgrounds Near Fort Mac??

Where should I go next? Share your travel stories, tips and hints with Fort McMurray

Hi, I'm new to Fort Mac and I'm looking for some good info on campgrounds near Fort Mac. I've been to Gregoire Lake, which is so-so, and I've heard Christina Lake is really nice. However, what about other places? A google search has revealed:

Hangingstone Provincial Park
Maqua Lake Campground
Camp Yogi
Engstrom Lake

...but none of the websites I've seen have any pictures or any useful info about what the place is actually like and I've only found one review so far... the sites only talk about amenities. That's great, but that's secondary to how beautiful the place is.

Thanks so much.
billmcgee

Sponsors

Advertise in Fort McMurray

Re: Best Campgrounds Near Fort Mac??

Unread postby betsi » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:54 pm

Sir Winston Churchill Provincial Park in Lac La Biche, AB http://goo.gl/maps/120N4 is nice. But it's about 3-3.5 hours drive on 881. Google gives wrong estimated time.
betsi

Unread postby Maggieb » Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:23 pm

We have checked out quite a few places this year, including White Sands Resort in Plamondin, Sir Winston Churchill provincial park, Beaver recreational park in Lac La Biche. And I have to say that Churchill is worth the ride. Very nice place, we go every second weekend when hubby is off.
Maggieb

Unread postby snowboarder1019 » Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:57 pm

I have been to Hanging stone and Gregoire,